The Online Sync service provides Continuous Online Backup of your accounts. You can try the service out for two weeks, just register for an account.
* To maintain performance for everyone we have a fair usage policy. You can use the service for up to 20 businesses and 10 devices. Beyond that, please contact us directly for pricing via support.
If you have more than one device, the service will keep your business accounts in sync on all your Macs, iPhones and iPads.
So you might find the service useful if...
* You enter information out and about on iPad or iPhone, or
* Your accountant uses a Mac and you want to share your accounts with them, or
* You and a business partner both run Easy Books, or
* You have an iPad and an iPhone, or
* You forget to make regular backups
Online Sync is not essential for Easy Books to function, it is an optional extra. The standard backup and restore features are available for manually transferring data between devices and for creating backups.
You can use the service to provide peace of mind. If your iPad is stolen, lost, or damaged, you can restore your accounts to a new iPad easily. And it's impossible to forget to backup with the system running continuously in the background!
If you have more than one Mac, or you also have an iPad or an iPhone, you might want to use Easy Books on more than one device. No problem! You can backup from one and restore on the other, but there isn't an easy way to add information to both devices at the same time. This is the problem that Online Syncing aims to solve. Using the service, you can store a copy of your business data on our secure server. Other devices you own are able to access the business data. And from that point on, the system will keep track of all your devices and keep the accounts synchronised. Any changes you make, such as adding a new transaction, or reconciling a statement are passed to other devices.
When you turn on syncing for a business, your data is copied and uploaded to our server. This first full upload is called the snapshot. Typically the upload will take about 10-15 seconds over a WiFi connection. After that, when you make a change to your business data, the changes are queued in the device for upload when the network connection is available. Only the changes are sent, and the upload happens in the background.
The server receives data from many devices, and queues the uploaded data for processing. It only takes a few seconds for the server to process your changes before they are made available to your other devices.
Your other devices check the server for new data when Easy Books is running. If new data is found, changes are applied in the background with an on-screen notification so you can carry on working.
You can also view the syncing history, which will show you a list of each change that was uploaded or downloaded. Some changes can conflict with others, for example, you might create an account at the same time, with the same name, under the same category, on two devices. In this case, the history will show that there is a problem. You can then pick a device and send a new snapshot. This resolves the conflict and all your other devices will download the new snapshot.