Using the Businesses Screen

This screen is displayed by tapping the business shown in the title area of the Easy Books menu. From this screen, you can:

  • List all businesses that you have added.
  • Delete a business.
  • Add a new business.

The business marked by a tick is the currently-selected business. This is the same business that is shown at the top of the Easy Books menu.

Easy Books keeps the accounts and settings for a business (such as its VAT scheme) separate from all other businesses. This means that if you want to change a business setting or add a transaction to an account, you need to select the relevant business in this screen first. Tapping a business makes it the currently-selected business and displays the Accounts screen for that business.

Additional information displayed for online syncing

The following is displayed to the left of the business name if a business is set up for online syncing:

green Syncing is currently active for the business and the data is up to date.

orange Easy Books is connecting to the online syncing server or downloading and processing changes. The business will be synced when the connection is established.

red A conflict error exists or you synced the business using a different online sync username from the one you are currently using. The business will be synced only when you log in using the original username.

How do I delete or change the settings of an existing business?

Note: Deleting a business deletes all of the data associated with the business. If you think you may need the data in the future, back up the business first using the Backup screen.

To delete a business or change its settings:

  1. Tap the business in this screen.

  2. Display the Business Settings screen.

  3. Change the settings, or choose the Delete button near the bottom of the screen to delete it. An alternative method is to swipe a business listed in the Businesses screen.

How do I add a new business?

Tap Add a new business and follow the instructions on Adding a business.