Using the Sales Screen

This screen is displayed by clicking Sales in the Easy Books sidebar. The screen provides an easy-to-read list of all sales you have made to all customers. From this screen, you can:

  • Enter new sales (these are sales that a customer will pay at a later date).

    Note: You may find it easier to use the Customers screen to enter sales. If you use the Sales screen, make sure that you have previously set up your customers in the Customers screen.

  • Enter payments you have received for sales.

    Note: It is normal to use the Customers screen to enter payments. You should use the Sales screen only to enter full payment of sales invoices.

What else can I do?

In addition to the above, you can:

  • Enter and view credits, as well as sales.
  • Generate PDFs of sales invoices, delivery notes and receipts.
  • Mark sales as "PAID".
  • Set up recurring sales.
What happens when a sale, payment or credit is entered?
  • Sales: A sale increases your income and the amount a customer owes, but does not affect the balance of the account in which money will be received until a payment is made. Since your income increases, this also affects items such as the Profit and Loss report.

    Note: For sales or other incomes that are paid immediately and do not need a sales invoice or receipt, it is normal to enter the payment details in the Accounts screen.

    Tip: You can view and enter sales in several screens, including the following:
  • Payments (from customers): In the context of customers, a payment is an amount of money received from a customer. When you enter a payment, you specify the account (normally a bank account) in which you will receive the income. This allows you to check the payments against, for example, the statements your bank sends you (a feature of double-entry bookkeeping).

    A payment reduces the amount the customer owes and increases the balance of the account in which it is received, which in turn affect items such as the Balance Sheet, Trial Balance, Customer Aged Debt and any adjustments for the cash-based VAT scheme. A payment does not further affect your sales income and therefore other related items such as the Profit and Loss report.

  • Credits (to customers): A credit decreases the amount a customer owes and your income. It has the reverse effect to a sale.

Why are transactions greyed out?

A greyed-out transaction indicates one or more of the following:

  • The transaction appears on a statement. For these, you are not able to change information such as the transaction type or amount. If you need to correct an amount you previously entered, you can edit the transaction from the Statement screen.

  • The transaction is dated before the date of the last Profit and Loss consolidation or VAT return.

Opening a transaction gives the reason why it is greyed out at the bottom of the transaction form.


Right-Click Options

View and Edit

Choose this option to view or edit the selected transaction.

Send Invoice (sale)

Produces a PDF sales invoice for your customer, which you can print, email or save as required.

Send Credit Note (sale credit)

Produces a PDF credit note for your customer, which you can print, email or save as required. This option is available only if the first account is a customer and the second is an income account (or a service or stock item, which are linked to income accounts).

Duplicate

Creates a new transaction by duplicating the existing transaction. This provides a fast method to create a new transaction if it is similar to an existing one.

Add tick (sale or sale credit)

Marks the sale or credit as "PAID". A tick will appear against the transaction to indicate that it has been paid. You may want to use this option for a sale if you have not used Receive Payment.

Note: This option does not decrease the amount the customer owes. It is provided merely as a visual aid.

Remove tick (sale or sale credit)

This option is available only if the sale or credit was previously marked as "PAID" using Add tick. The option removes the tick and the "PAID" mark on the sale.

Receive Payment (unpaid sale)

Enables you to enter the details of a payment you have received from the customer for the sale. A tick will appear against the sale to indicate that the customer has paid.

Go to Payment (paid sale)

This option is available if you previously used Receive Payment on the sale. The option enables you to access the payment transaction you entered for the sale.

Go to Sale (payment)

This option is available if the payment was made using Receive Payment on a sale. The option enables you to access the sale transaction for the payment.

Delete

Select this option to delete the existing transaction. You cannot delete transactions that are greyed out. Opening a greyed-out transaction provides details of why it is greyed out.


Further Information

For details of how to carry out tasks in the Sales screen, please refer to: